A Window on Kindness

Mom is fine, thanks to a group of hardworking people I only see through a window.

Once again, I’m amazed by my mother’s resilience, and grateful for the people who support her. Her assisted living community has been in COVID lockdown for — what is it now? Almost seven months? And she’s holding up well.

We can’t go inside her building and she can’t come out, but we can sit on the front porch and visit her through the dining room window. The amazing staff bring her out of her apartment and set us up with wireless headphones and lavalier mics, and for the next thirty minutes we can play music, sing songs, look at pictures, and just enjoy each other’s company.

It’s not ideal, but it sure beats worrying about her.

Thank you, loving staff at Arbor Terrace of Decatur. Thank you, health care workers everywhere.

I see you. It may just be through a window, but I see you. And you are awesome.

6 thoughts on “A Window on Kindness

  1. Thanks so much for this update on your sweet mom, for whom I can now stop worrying so much thanks to this post! Love to both of y’all.

  2. Thank you for sharing! I forgot how much I missed this blog, and can’t tell you how happy I am to see your mother safe and cared for during COVID. Keep making those fond memories! 🙂

  3. Carolyn
    My name is Jon Gloer. We lived with your grandfather on Connally Drive in East Point, Georgia for a couple of years. I remember you and your family coming to visit your grandfather many times. I have tried to contact your family for years and finally came across this article about your beautiful mother. For so many years I have wondered what had happened to you all. I am married and live in Fayetteville Georgia. I have three kids and six grandkids and I am a schoolteacher at Starr‘s Mill High. I would love to talk to you. My cell is 678-283-4912.

Leave a comment