Working Girl

My last post was about the value of work for people with dementia. Today I thought I’d start sharing examples of the kinds of work my mom can still do.

Mom used to belong to a group called “Quilting for Others”, which provides warm lap quilts to homeless shelters, senior centers, and other places where there’s a need. She had to give up the group when she moved to Atlanta, but she brought boxes of quilting projects with her. I knew next to nothing about quilting, but I discovered that Mom could teach me, if I had the patience to learn.

At the time I didn’t actually want to learn quilting, and I was finding other things to do with Mom, so I gave a lot of the materials back to her group. But I recently opened a mystery box in my attic and discovered some five-year-old projects that were almost complete. The quilt tops, soft batting, and fabric backing were pinned together. The quilts only needed to be tied and bound. Maybe we could do that.

A word of explanation: Mom’s group “ties” their quilts, as opposed to “quilting” them. Tying a quilt is just what it sounds like — putting strong thread through all three layers at regular intervals, and tying square knots to keep the layers in place.

IMG_0673

Guess what? Mom can do this! And she loves it!

IMG_0678She has tied two quilts since I opened that box. At first I tried to plan everything out in advance and put pins where each knot should go. Bad idea; Mom has her own way of working. As soon as I let go of control (life lesson, again), she was happy.

Happy!  A person with dementia, genuinely happy!  Imagine the possiblities . . .IMG_0680

 

 

7 thoughts on “Working Girl

Leave a Reply

