Second Chapter

Now that “Metamorphoses” has closed, I find myself wondering what this blog will become.  I named it “Lifelong Metamorphoses” as a reference both to the play and to the changes I experience as I grow older.  I subtitled it “thoughts on art, change, and the human experience” to leave it open for whatever wide-ranging topics might occur to me. I didn’t want to fence myself in.

But I realize now that I like having a focus, and that I’ve stumbled on one by accident.  I seem to have written about the balance of home life and artistic life more than any other topic, so I plan to continue along those lines.

Seeking balance

Seeking balance

Art, change, and the human experience:  those are still my topics.  How does making art, or experiencing art, change a person?  How do the changes in my personal and professional life affect my art?  Is there such a thing as true balance between the personal and the artistic?  I can’t promise to answer those questions, but I’ll keep them in mind as I share stories and observations from a life in the arts. 

The arts I hope to write about include acting (of course), photography, music, dance, and writing.  The changes include my ever-shifting experience of mothering a teenager, caring for an older parent, building a marriage, and managing a career.  The human experience is, necessarily, my own.  I plan to post two days a week, probably on Tuesdays and Fridays.  But like everything else in my life, that could change. 

Thank you for joining me.  I’m grateful to everyone who has shared this first chapter.  I don’t know where the story is going, but what the heck: let’s turn the page and start Chapter Two.

9 thoughts on “Second Chapter

  1. Balance – great topic. It seems ever elusive. Or maybe it’s just that I don’t really know what it is, or that my notion of it is not realistic given all that I want to do and be in life.

  2. Hi, Carolyn! Wendy said it well. I’m already encouraged by your writings and will journey with you. My 23 yo son is an actor and director ~ I’ll send him here, too.

Leave a Reply

