Play

(Part of a series about “Metamorphoses” at Georgia Shakespeare.)

One more show. 

One more chance to share these stories with an audience.  One more chance to play these scenes with my friends.  And I do mean “play,” in every sense of the word.

Metamorphoses Three, Spring 2013 083Our production of “Metamorphoses” begins with the image of a big red ball dropping from the sky and splashing into the water.  The ball becomes a child’s toy in the story of Midas, then disappears until the final moments of the play, when it’s tossed back into the pool in a magical moment of redemption.

I love the simplicity of a bright red sphere juxtaposed with the straight blue lines of the set.  I love the playfulness of Midas’s daughter as she bounces, rolls, and tosses the ball.  I love the physical reminder of childhood, in a play filled with complex, confused, confounded adults.

That big red ball beckons me out to play and keeps me from living these stories only in my head.  It catapults mythology from the classroom to the playground, turning research into recess.  I’ll miss it.

One more show.

One more chance to play ball.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Play

  1. I have been following your Metamorphoses blog and loving very post. Tonight, following a show in Greenville, SC, I quoted you on, “What’s next?” My daughter, who will interning next summer with GA Shakes, gets to see you tomorrow before they take off for a study abroad in London. Thanks for telling the stories.

  2. I’m so sad. But theatre is transient and fleeting; that is part of its beauty. Still, this is probably the best play I’ve ever seen/worked on, and it will be hard to watch it end.

Leave a Reply

