Monday, Monday

Monday is the actor’s day off.  The rest of the world may dread waking up on Monday morning, but not professional actors.  We rehearse six days a week and on the seventh day, we rest.  Our seventh day just happens to be Monday.

I am old enough to remember when the Mamas and the Papas sang “Monday, Monday” on my big sister’s LP record player, and I wondered what all the fuss was about.  Then I grew up, got a nine-to-five, and figured it out.  I lasted about three years on that career track; by the time I was twenty-five I could see my destiny in the theater.

Now I have Mondays off, and I love them. They are my catch-up time.  I usually need to pick up some groceries, take care of errands, schedule some appointments, and do other mundane tasks, but somehow they’re easier on Monday than they would be on the weekend.  I love being able to drive when it’s not rush hour, and shop when the stores are practically empty.  Most of all, I love being at home. 

White Mar. 2013 022

Nice to be home

Today I listened to the TED Radio Hour on NPR while I washed the dishes.  I brought my mom over for a bit of sewing and ironing (really, she enjoys it).  I did a little gardening and swept the front walk.  I went for a stroll with my husband.  Domestic bliss.

How about you? What do you do on Monday?

2 thoughts on “Monday, Monday

Leave a Reply

